Inside Reporting Ch. 4 Reflection

Deciphering what is a story from what is not a story is difficult. It’s also a major part of news media. Editors and readers suggestions are crucial to deciding what is newsworthy. This reminds me of my work as a journalist for my high school my senior year. Often times, what you may think is newsworthy and how you feel about a topic is obsolete. The editorial staff has full control over what makes the news and what does not. However, the direction and focus of the writing gives the writer the burden of deciding what deserves most of the attention in the piece.

I would find myself clashing with our school papers advisor over what I could write my opinion pieces on. I looked for conflict and controversy and I was not one to shy away from giving the audience my full opinion in my writing. No matter how well written or powerful the journalism was, my advisor would be quick to shut down an idea due to my high school’s policies and regulations regarding censorship in the newspaper. Although my high school’s policies on censorship were considered relaxed compared to other schools, the changes in the focus of my own work was enough to get me frustrated.

Finding as many sources as possible is vital to the strength of your work. Finding the right people to discuss and cover your topic can prove to be difficult but can be the factual evidence that holds the entire story together.  Without good sources, your entire piece may not have the kind of backing that will prove your story is factual.

 

Leave a Reply

