Intensive Internet Research

Google the name Eddie Case, and a real estate mastermind dominates the search engine.  I am clearly not the most important Eddie Case in the world.  However, if someone wanted to learn more about me and knew that I grew up in a town called South Orange could figure out plenty about myself. You can learn that I attending Columbia High School in Maplewood NJ. Through that site you can find several articles that I published in the school paper that also was published on the school website. In those articles you can find out that I graduated in 2010, through articles that I published in the school paper. With the contacts found on the schools website, it would not be difficult to find out more information about myself including where I attend college, the members of my family and where they live in South Orange.

Eddie Case?

 

All you need is a person’s basic information to inflict harm on that person or their family. The information found on the Internet about me is very basic. I was not surprised at the amount of information I found but I was surprised at how easy it is to find the information.  The information someone would find about me is not interesting. They would not be able to reach many conclusions with their efforts other than study my ability as a writer in high school.  However, if someone really wanted to harm me, they can. Internet provides your friends, and creeps with plenty of information about you.

I feel very uncomfortable about the Internet. The amount of information on the Internet makes it very unsafe. At the same time, the Internet is a useful and fun tool in my day-to-day life. It is not something I would ever turn my back on and at this point, would it even make a difference? The privacy settings on Facebook protect people from finding out details about me but it is still out there.  I have been told countless times that privacy settings can be overturned and that what is published on the Internet remains published forever. If this really is the case, then it is not difficult for someone to find out every detail about my life. A scary thought, but a real possibility.

 

Me?

Leave a Reply

